jump to navigation

Tech Savvy? August 24, 2009

Posted by kmcalear in Life, Musings.
add a comment

So I used to consider myself moderately tech-savvy, until I attempted to manage the behemoth known as Blackboard. What is it about a system for College Professors, whose mean age I would still wager is 50… that defies all easy logic? Usually it takes me around 20 minutes to get into a system, read through the control panel and figure out how to make it do what I want. Instead… I ended up staring like some computer luddite for about 2 hours, until I finally gave up and sent an email to all my students with the syllabus. The strange thing? Somehow my University of Houston Blackboard system was far easier to work with than the Community College one, and searching online got me four or five different sets of instructions for different colleges.

Whatever happened to User Friendly, I ask you!

Fie on you Blackboard.

That said, obviously Professor Mac started up work again, we’ll see how Year 2 of the Great PHD project goes. It’s also time to really get serious about getting back to a writing schedule, since the lazy days of Summer Vacation are over.

PPS. Happy Birthday Kelly!!!!